Explore the value-added process of publishing an app, after you've finished building the logic.
So you're done building your app. Now, publishing allows you to lock in and run your finished data app.
Here is an example of an app in the edit view (this data app calculates weekly Net Promoter Score - something that customer success teams use to evaluate feedback forms). To publish this data app we use the "Publish" button.
The first time an app is published the button will say "Publish App", and then each time changes are made and the app is re-published, the button will say "Publish Changes".
When you publish your app you are redirected to the App Mission Control page. App Mission Control represents a simplistic control panel from which you can trigger or launch your finished data app. From here, you can view your run history, redirect to share or edit your app, and manually run or schedule your app to run on its own.
The "Edit App" button, redirects you to the app editing view that we just came from.
The "Share App" button allows you to share your app with others. Editing the shareability of the app happens from the published mission control because this clean interface represents the ability to communicate only the meaningful or *relevant* parts of your data app and share with teammates without directing them through the messiness of all your steps in the edit view.
Every time the data app is edited, these changes need to be published and re-ran to reveal these changes in your results. Each run is documented in the "App Runs" side panel so you can see who ran the app and when. However, this history bank allows you to return to a previous run to view past versions of your data app.
From the App Mission Control, apps can be ran manually or scheduled to run at a particular time or repeated increment of time.
When you run an app it triggers the series of blocks you’ve set up to process your data.
When the "Run App" button is clicked, you are automatically redirected to the dashboard view of your data app. There, you can see a minimized, clean version of your results.
The steps and result tables that show up in the published view are dependent on the in-app visibility settings of the blocks in your app (these settings are established in the edit view and you can learn more about interactivity in the In-app visibility tutorial).
When ran, the data app will automatically process each block in your pipeline and reveal the results, stopping only when an interactive input requires some user prompting.
While I've repeatedly emphasized the polished, uncluttered view of published apps, its worth noting that viewers can also explore the published data app in greater detail by selecting the "show all steps" button.