Learn how to build interactive data apps that allow for a two-way conversation between you and your results.
As we've discussed in previous videos, data apps have two main modes: the raw, editing view and the published app view.
The published view offers a clean way to portray your results by hiding any irrelevant, intermediate steps. As the creator, you have the power to determine which steps should be visible in the published app. These visibility settings are established in the edit view.
To adjust the in-app visibility of a block, use the vertical ellipse or as foodies prefer to call it- the kebab menu icon, directly to the left of the block. Here you can manually adjust the visibility of each step.
The default setting for a blocks is "Auto." Under the auto setting, only results from end-point blocks will automatically appear in the published view. End-point blocks (marked with red borders on the image) are blocks who's output results are not used as an input for any other block.
In other words, if a block is set to "Auto visibility" in the edit mode, and it's output isn't used for another block then we'll be able to preview it's results in the published view, like on the image below:
If the block contains interactive components, the block itself will be visible as well, as shown on the following image:
On the other hand, if we add a step below the "Unused" block and call the output table as an input, then the block is no longer an "end-point" (since it is called or "used" later in the pipeline) and therefore will not be visible in the published app.
To customize your in-app visibility beyond the default settings, you can select "Always show" or "Don't show." So even though this block is no longer an end point, we can still make it visible by toggling its in-app visibility setting from "Auto" to "Always Show".
One special case that's worth mentioning is Note blocks. Since note blocks don't function on input and output data, technically all notes are considered end point blocks, and therefore will show up in the published view unless instructed otherwise. To prevent notes from showing up in the finished view, you can change it in the settings to "Don't show".